Govt launches e-visa facility for 43 countries – India

26 nov 2014

Govt launches e-visa facility for 43 countries

Picture for representational purpose. Photo: PTIPicture for representational purpose. Photo: PTIGovernment launches electronic visa facility for visitors from 43 countries including US, Germany and Israel.

“The contribution of tourism in the GDP is approximately 7 per cent and we want to double it up,” says Home Minister Rajnath Singh. This move will give a major boost to tourism sector.

A visitor from these countries will just have to apply for an e-visa on the designated website and pay the fee online to get an electronic travel authorisation (ETA) within 72 hours.

Russia, Ukraine, Brazil, UAE, Jordan, Kenya, Fiji, Finland, Australia, South Korea, Singapore, Mauritius, Mexico, Norway, Oman and Philippines are among the countries which have got the e-visa facility in the first phase.

“Currently we have included 43 countries in the first phase. Barring those who are ‘high-risk’ countries, we will extend this facility to almost every country in the world phase-wise,” Singh said.

E-visa will be valid for 30 days and a tourist can avail the facility twice a year.

He said earlier the visa-on-arrival facility was available for a few countries.

“But this manual system was causing delay so now we have introduced the IT-based system for faster result,” he said.

Congratulating all those involved in the launching of e-visa system, Tourism Minister Mahesh Sharma said, “This is a historic day for tourism sector. The facility has opened the country to a vast world.”

Raising the issue of safety of tourists, Sharma asked the Home Minister to provide fool-proof security to them.

In response to the Tourism Minister’s concern, Singh assured safety and security for all tourists particularly foreigners who come to India.

“We are formulating a legal framework for this. We will ensure safety and security for all tourists,” he said

With the launch, the e-visa facility has become operational at nine international airports – Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata, Hyderabad, Bengaluru, Kochi, Thiruvananthapuram and Goa.

About Surgeon Sanjay Kumar

Surgeon Sanjay kumar Cardiothoracic Cardiac Heart Surgery Dr Surgeon
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s